• General Dermatology
  • Eczema
  • Alopecia
  • Aesthetics
  • Vitiligo
  • COVID-19
  • Actinic Keratosis
  • Precision Medicine and Biologics
  • Rare Disease
  • Wound Care
  • Rosacea
  • Psoriasis
  • Psoriatic Arthritis
  • Atopic Dermatitis
  • Melasma
  • NP and PA
  • Skin Cancer
  • Hidradenitis Suppurativa
  • Drug Watch
  • Pigmentary Disorders
  • Acne
  • Pediatric Dermatology
  • Practice Management

ACAAI Honor College Award Winners


Several doctors were recognized at the American College of Allergy, Asthma, & Immunology annual scientific meeting held November 4 to 8 in New Orleans, Louisiana.

The American College of Allergy, Asthma, & Immunology (ACAAI) honor those who made contributions to the college during their annual scientific meeting.

Golden Headed Cane

The Golden Headed Cane award is being presented by the ACAAI president Luz Fonacier, MD, FACAAI, Mineola, New York, at the opening ceremony on November 6. The award will be given to Jay Portnoy, MD, FACAAI, an allergist/immunologist from Kansas City, Missouri, for demonstrating the highest standards of scientific excellence and integrity. He is a physician at Children’s Mercy Hospital in Kansas City and professor of pediatrics at the University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Medicine. Portnoy has been an ACAAI Fellow for 35 years and served as college president in 2007 to 2008. He has received Distinguished Service and Distinguished Fellow awards in the past. 

Distinguished Fellows

The Distinguished Fellows award, which is in recognition of outstanding contributions and commitment in the United States (US) or Canada for the specialty of allergy, are being awarded to Bradley E. Chipps, MD, FACAAI, an allergist/immunologist in Sacramento, California, Stephen A Imbeau, MD, FACAAI, an allergist/immunologist in Florence, South Carolina, and Russell Settipane, MD, FACAAI, an allergist/immunologist in East Providence, Rhode Island.

International Distinguished Fellow

The International Distinguished Fellow award is given in recognition of outstanding contributions and commitment on behalf of allergy in the recipient’s respective country. This year, Cemzi Akdis, MD, director of the Swiss Institute of Allergy and Asthma Research (SIAF) Davos, Switzerland, is receiving the award.  

Distinguished Service

The Distinguished Service award is given to recognize those whose have been tireless in their efforts, dedication, and enthusiasm on behalf of the ACAAI. This year it’s being awarded to Rebecca Burke, JD, a healthcare attorney in Washington, DC, David Engler, MD, FACAAI, an allergist and immunologist in Houston, Texas, Dane McBride, MD, FACAAI, an allergist and immunologist in Roanoke, Virginia, and Niraj Patel, MD, MS, FACAAI, an allergist and immunologist in Atlanta, Georgia.

Woman in Allergy

The Woman in Allergy award is given to a person who had advanced the role of women in medicine or has made a significant contribution to the specialty. This year it is awarded to Mervat Nassef, MD, FACAAI, the associate professor of pediatrics at Columbia University Medical Center in New York, New York.

Executive Medical Director Award

The Executive Medical Director award is selected by ACAAI’s executive medical director. This year, Hollis Heavenrich-Jones, the ACAAI director of public relations, is receiving the award as an honor for her work.

Clemens von Priquet Awards

The Clemens von Priquet awards are being presented to 2 fellows-in-training for their meeting abstracts. First place, the Alliance Memorial Award, and $2,500 was awarded to John J. Accarino, MD, a research fellow, Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston. Second Place and $1,500 was awarded to Ryan C. Eid, MD, an internal medicine specialist at the University of Virginia, in Charlottesville.


1. Congratulate Award winners. ACAAI Member. Published November 1, 2021. Accessed November 3, 2021. https://college.acaai.org/congratulate-award-winners/ 

Related Videos
© 2024 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.